Skip to main content

Comparison

Aider vs Cursor

Aider vs Cursor, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Aider: Open-source terminal pair programming, you supply the model; Cursor: AI editor with Composer and Cloud agents. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Aider

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Aider when you want to drive terminal pair programming with your own API keys, or with models running locally under Ollama, and have every change land as a Git commit.

When to skip it Aider's own install is Apache 2.0 open source and charges nothing per seat, but inference is settled by usage at whichever model provider you pick; the official docs say models weaker than GPT-3.5 often fail to edit files, so read its leaderboard before choosing a model. For a self-hostable assistant with custom context sources inside your IDE rather than a terminal, the closer directory record is Continue; for a terminal agent whose model quota is carried by a vendor subscription, the closer record is Claude Code. This is not a ranked review.

Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.

Cursor

Fact source

When to pick it A team needs centralised billing and an editor that can turn on team-wide Privacy mode: the Cursor Teams tier at 40 USD per user per month is what covers both.

When to skip it Hobby allows only limited Agent requests and the page says on-demand usage is billed in arrears afterwards; Privacy mode only promises no training use, not that code never leaves, so pair it with local inference when that is the requirement. Where the workflow already lives on GitHub and tiers are picked by completion allowance, the closer directory record is GitHub Copilot; for an IDE assistant you can fully self-host with your own models, the closer record is Continue. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Hobby free (no amount rendered); Individual 20 — USD / user / month (Pro, default); Teams 40 — USD / user / month (Standard, default); Enterprise Custom. Pro+, Ultra, Premium and annual amounts not rendered. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.6 / 54.8 / 5
PricingFreeFreemium
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresGit auto commits, Multi-model, Local repo contextAgent and Composer, Cloud agents, MCPs, skills, and hooks
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Aider, Cursor.

Aider

Open-source terminal pair programming, you supply the model

Learn more →

Cursor

AI editor with Composer and Cloud agents

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Aider pricing compare with Cursor?+

Aider: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. Cursor: Verified price: Hobby free (no amount rendered); Individual 20 — USD / user / month (Pro, default); Teams 40 — USD / user / month (Standard, default); Enterprise Custom. Pro+, Ultra, Premium and annual amounts not rendered. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Aider and Cursor support?+

Aider runs on "Not verified" (see the Aider page); Cursor runs on "Not verified" (see the Cursor page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Aider and Cursor support?+

Aider supports "Not verified" (see the Aider page); Cursor supports "Not verified" (see the Cursor page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Aider or Cursor?+

Aider: Choose Aider when you want to drive terminal pair programming with your own API keys, or with models running locally under Ollama, and have every change land as a Git commit. Cursor: A team needs centralised billing and an editor that can turn on team-wide Privacy mode: the Cursor Teams tier at 40 USD per user per month is what covers both.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Aider is dated 2026-10-12 and for Cursor 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons