Comparison
ChatGPT vs Claude
ChatGPT vs Claude, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Text Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
ChatGPT: OpenAI chat product; Claude: Web chat and Claude Code share one usage pool. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Text Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
ChatGPT
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Open the official pricing page, not an amount on this site, when you need to confirm ChatGPT has a free plan and then compare which of Go, Plus, and Pro includes higher Codex or image limits.
When to skip it The pricing page did not state a plan amount, and it did not say whether non-Search answers include clickable citations; both are unverified. If the job is reading one long document in a single pass, the closer directory record is Claude. If the job is running an open model on your own machine rather than a cloud subscription, the closer record is Ollama. This is not a ranked review.
Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.
Claude
Fact sourceWhen to pick it When one very long contract or codebase needs a single read for analysis, check the Free-tier cap of 5 Projects first, then decide whether Free or a higher plan fits.
When to skip it Free, Pro, and Max default to opt-out for model training, so default no-training means Team or Enterprise; the pricing page does not say whether answers carry clickable citations (unverified), so pair it with a source-grounded tool when traceability matters. To run an open model on your own machine instead of a cloud subscription, the closer record is Ollama. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0; Pro 20 — USD / month (or 200 — USD / year, page labels it 17 USD / month); Max from 100 — USD / month (5x and 20x tiers include 100 and 200 USD / month of API credit); Team standard seat 25 — USD / seat / month (annual 20), premium seat 125 (monthly) and 100 (annual); Enterprise 20 — USD / seat / month, billed annually, plus API-rate usage. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official source| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Directory score | 4.7 / 5 | 4.7 / 5 |
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android, Desktop | Web, API |
| Models | Not verified | Not verified |
| Core features | Text chat, Search, Codex | Web chat and Claude Code share a usage pool, Artifacts and Projects (Free caps at 5), MCP and connectors |
| Formats | Not verified | Not verified |
Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for ChatGPT, Claude.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does ChatGPT pricing compare with Claude?+
ChatGPT: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. Claude: Verified price: Free 0; Pro 20 — USD / month (or 200 — USD / year, page labels it 17 USD / month); Max from 100 — USD / month (5x and 20x tiers include 100 and 200 USD / month of API credit); Team standard seat 25 — USD / seat / month (annual 20), premium seat 125 (monthly) and 100 (annual); Enterprise 20 — USD / seat / month, billed annually, plus API-rate usage. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do ChatGPT and Claude support?+
ChatGPT runs on Web, iOS, Android, Desktop; Claude runs on Web, API. If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do ChatGPT and Claude support?+
ChatGPT supports "Not verified" (see the ChatGPT page); Claude supports "Not verified" (see the Claude page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick ChatGPT or Claude?+
ChatGPT: Open the official pricing page, not an amount on this site, when you need to confirm ChatGPT has a free plan and then compare which of Go, Plus, and Pro includes higher Codex or image limits. Claude: When one very long contract or codebase needs a single read for analysis, check the Free-tier cap of 5 Projects first, then decide whether Free or a higher plan fits.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for ChatGPT is dated 2026-10-12 and for Claude 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.