Skip to main content

Comparison

Claude vs NotebookLM

Claude vs NotebookLM, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Text Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Claude: Web chat and Claude Code share one usage pool; NotebookLM: Source-grounded research workspace now named Gemini Notebook. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Text Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Claude

Fact source

When to pick it When one very long contract or codebase needs a single read for analysis, check the Free-tier cap of 5 Projects first, then decide whether Free or a higher plan fits.

When to skip it Free, Pro, and Max default to opt-out for model training, so default no-training means Team or Enterprise; the pricing page does not say whether answers carry clickable citations (unverified), so pair it with a source-grounded tool when traceability matters. To run an open model on your own machine instead of a cloud subscription, the closer record is Ollama. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0; Pro 20 — USD / month (or 200 — USD / year, page labels it 17 USD / month); Max from 100 — USD / month (5x and 20x tiers include 100 and 200 USD / month of API credit); Team standard seat 25 — USD / seat / month (annual 20), premium seat 125 (monthly) and 100 (annual); Enterprise 20 — USD / seat / month, billed annually, plus API-rate usage. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

NotebookLM

The official site and help centre now write NotebookLM as Gemini Notebook: the sign-in page at notebooklm.google.com is titled Sign in to Gemini Notebook.

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM) to turn a pile of your own files into a research workspace with explicit source caps: the free Standard tier gives 100 notebooks per user and 50 sources per notebook, and Pro raises that to 500 and 300.

When to skip it It answers only from what you upload and adds no outside facts; source caps are fixed per tier — 100 on Plus, 300 on Pro, and 500 or 600 on Ultra — and going over means another notebook. For open-web retrieval with clickable citations, the closer directory record is You.com; to run the same PDFs through local or self-hosted models without buying Google AI, the closer record is Ollama. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Standard Free; Google AI Pro 19.99 / month, 199.99 / year; Google AI Ultra 99.99 / month (monthly billing only) — USD / month (region: US, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.7 / 54.7 / 5
PricingFreemiumFreemium
PlatformsWeb, APINot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresWeb chat and Claude Code share a usage pool, Artifacts and Projects (Free caps at 5), MCP and connectorsDocument Q&A, Audio overviews, Cited sources
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Claude, NotebookLM.

Claude

Web chat and Claude Code share one usage pool

Learn more →

NotebookLM

Source-grounded research workspace now named Gemini Notebook

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Claude pricing compare with NotebookLM?+

Claude: Verified price: Free 0; Pro 20 — USD / month (or 200 — USD / year, page labels it 17 USD / month); Max from 100 — USD / month (5x and 20x tiers include 100 and 200 USD / month of API credit); Team standard seat 25 — USD / seat / month (annual 20), premium seat 125 (monthly) and 100 (annual); Enterprise 20 — USD / seat / month, billed annually, plus API-rate usage. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. NotebookLM: Verified price: Standard Free; Google AI Pro 19.99 / month, 199.99 / year; Google AI Ultra 99.99 / month (monthly billing only) — USD / month (region: US, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Claude and NotebookLM support?+

Claude runs on Web, API; NotebookLM runs on "Not verified" (see the NotebookLM page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Claude and NotebookLM support?+

Claude supports "Not verified" (see the Claude page); NotebookLM supports "Not verified" (see the NotebookLM page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Claude or NotebookLM?+

Claude: When one very long contract or codebase needs a single read for analysis, check the Free-tier cap of 5 Projects first, then decide whether Free or a higher plan fits. NotebookLM: Choose Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM) to turn a pile of your own files into a research workspace with explicit source caps: the free Standard tier gives 100 notebooks per user and 50 sources per notebook, and Pro raises that to 500 and 300.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Claude is dated 2026-10-12 and for NotebookLM 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons