Skip to main content

Comparison

Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot

Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Claude Code: Terminal agent drawn from Claude paid plans, shared usage pool; GitHub Copilot: Coding assistant with a free plan and agent mode. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Claude Code

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Claude Code when you already pay for Claude Pro or higher and accept that the terminal agent and the web chat draw on the same usage pool, so no separate coding-agent subscription is needed.

When to skip it The Free plan does not include Claude Code and the desktop app section states a paid subscription is required; to keep code away from an Anthropic claude.ai login entirely, route through Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud's Agent Platform, or Microsoft Foundry instead. For an editor that gives team-level Privacy mode and centralised billing on its Teams tier, the closer directory record is Cursor; for an Apache 2.0 terminal tool you fully self-host and bill through your own API keys, the closer record is Aider. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Pro 20 / month, 200 / year (annual billing view shows 17 / month); Max from 100 / month; Team standard seat 25 / seat / month, 20 / seat / year — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

GitHub Copilot

Fact source

When to pick it Choose GitHub Copilot when work already lives on GitHub and you will compare Free, Pro, Pro+, and Max completion allowances and monthly prices on the official plans page, rather than the older figure that treated 39 USD as the top tier.

When to skip it The plans page says Pro includes a monthly allowance; add-on rules after that allowance were not checked line by line this round. If the job is an open runtime in a local repository rather than a GitHub subscription, the closer directory record is Ollama. If the job is a terminal coding agent rather than IDE completion, the closer record is Claude Code. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0 — USD; Pro 10; Pro+ 39; Max 100 — USD / user / month (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.8 / 54.6 / 5
PricingPaidFreemium
PlatformsNot verifiedVS Code, JetBrains, Neovim
ModelsNot verifiedGPT-5, Claude Sonnet 4.5, Gemini 2.5 Pro
Core featuresTerminal agent, Cross-file refactors, Command executionCode completion, Agent mode, Copilot Chat
FormatsNot verifiedAll languages

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Claude Code.

Claude Code

Terminal agent drawn from Claude paid plans, shared usage pool

Learn more →

GitHub Copilot

Coding assistant with a free plan and agent mode

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Claude Code pricing compare with GitHub Copilot?+

Claude Code: Verified price: Pro 20 / month, 200 / year (annual billing view shows 17 / month); Max from 100 / month; Team standard seat 25 / seat / month, 20 / seat / year — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. GitHub Copilot: Verified price: Free 0 — USD; Pro 10; Pro+ 39; Max 100 — USD / user / month (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Claude Code and GitHub Copilot support?+

Claude Code runs on "Not verified" (see the Claude Code page); GitHub Copilot runs on VS Code, JetBrains, Neovim. If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Claude Code and GitHub Copilot support?+

Claude Code supports "Not verified" (see the Claude Code page); GitHub Copilot supports All languages. Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Claude Code or GitHub Copilot?+

Claude Code: Choose Claude Code when you already pay for Claude Pro or higher and accept that the terminal agent and the web chat draw on the same usage pool, so no separate coding-agent subscription is needed. GitHub Copilot: Choose GitHub Copilot when work already lives on GitHub and you will compare Free, Pro, Pro+, and Max completion allowances and monthly prices on the official plans page, rather than the older figure that treated 39 USD as the top tier.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Claude Code is dated 2026-10-12 and for GitHub Copilot 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons