Skip to main content

Comparison

Cursor vs Ollama

Cursor vs Ollama, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Cursor: AI editor with Composer and Cloud agents; Ollama: Local runs plus cloud usage credits. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Cursor

Fact source

When to pick it A team needs centralised billing and an editor that can turn on team-wide Privacy mode: the Cursor Teams tier at 40 USD per user per month is what covers both.

When to skip it Hobby allows only limited Agent requests and the page says on-demand usage is billed in arrears afterwards; Privacy mode only promises no training use, not that code never leaves, so pair it with local inference when that is the requirement. Where the workflow already lives on GitHub and tiers are picked by completion allowance, the closer directory record is GitHub Copilot; for an IDE assistant you can fully self-host with your own models, the closer record is Continue. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Hobby free (no amount rendered); Individual 20 — USD / user / month (Pro, default); Teams 40 — USD / user / month (Standard, default); Enterprise Custom. Pro+, Ultra, Premium and annual amounts not rendered. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

Ollama

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Ollama when you want to run open models on your own machine and the official pricing page states that local runs are unlimited. Cloud credits are not part of that local free use.

When to skip it If you want the multi-model API gateway already described in this directory, rather than a local runtime, the closer record is OpenRouter. If you want a graphical workbench rather than a command-line runtime, the closer record is LM Studio. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0; Team from 500 / month (includes 1000 shared usage credit / month) — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.8 / 54.6 / 5
PricingFreemiumFreemium
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresAgent and Composer, Cloud agents, MCPs, skills, and hooksLocal runs, Unlimited local runs, Cloud usage credits
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Cursor, Ollama.

Cursor

AI editor with Composer and Cloud agents

Learn more →

Ollama

Local runs plus cloud usage credits

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Cursor pricing compare with Ollama?+

Cursor: Verified price: Hobby free (no amount rendered); Individual 20 — USD / user / month (Pro, default); Teams 40 — USD / user / month (Standard, default); Enterprise Custom. Pro+, Ultra, Premium and annual amounts not rendered. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Ollama: Verified price: Free 0; Team from 500 / month (includes 1000 shared usage credit / month) — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Cursor and Ollama support?+

Cursor runs on "Not verified" (see the Cursor page); Ollama runs on "Not verified" (see the Ollama page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Cursor and Ollama support?+

Cursor supports "Not verified" (see the Cursor page); Ollama supports "Not verified" (see the Ollama page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Cursor or Ollama?+

Cursor: A team needs centralised billing and an editor that can turn on team-wide Privacy mode: the Cursor Teams tier at 40 USD per user per month is what covers both. Ollama: Choose Ollama when you want to run open models on your own machine and the official pricing page states that local runs are unlimited. Cloud credits are not part of that local free use.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Cursor is dated 2026-10-12 and for Ollama 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons