Comparison
GitHub Copilot vs Ollama
GitHub Copilot vs Ollama, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
GitHub Copilot: Coding assistant with a free plan and agent mode; Ollama: Local runs plus cloud usage credits. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
GitHub Copilot
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose GitHub Copilot when work already lives on GitHub and you will compare Free, Pro, Pro+, and Max completion allowances and monthly prices on the official plans page, rather than the older figure that treated 39 USD as the top tier.
When to skip it The plans page says Pro includes a monthly allowance; add-on rules after that allowance were not checked line by line this round. If the job is an open runtime in a local repository rather than a GitHub subscription, the closer directory record is Ollama. If the job is a terminal coding agent rather than IDE completion, the closer record is Claude Code. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0 — USD; Pro 10; Pro+ 39; Max 100 — USD / user / month (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official sourceOllama
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose Ollama when you want to run open models on your own machine and the official pricing page states that local runs are unlimited. Cloud credits are not part of that local free use.
When to skip it If you want the multi-model API gateway already described in this directory, rather than a local runtime, the closer record is OpenRouter. If you want a graphical workbench rather than a command-line runtime, the closer record is LM Studio. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0; Team from 500 / month (includes 1000 shared usage credit / month) — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official source| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Directory score | 4.6 / 5 | 4.6 / 5 |
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Platforms | VS Code, JetBrains, Neovim | Not verified |
| Models | GPT-5, Claude Sonnet 4.5, Gemini 2.5 Pro | Not verified |
| Core features | Code completion, Agent mode, Copilot Chat | Local runs, Unlimited local runs, Cloud usage credits |
| Formats | All languages | Not verified |
Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Ollama.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does GitHub Copilot pricing compare with Ollama?+
GitHub Copilot: Verified price: Free 0 — USD; Pro 10; Pro+ 39; Max 100 — USD / user / month (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Ollama: Verified price: Free 0; Team from 500 / month (includes 1000 shared usage credit / month) — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do GitHub Copilot and Ollama support?+
GitHub Copilot runs on VS Code, JetBrains, Neovim; Ollama runs on "Not verified" (see the Ollama page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do GitHub Copilot and Ollama support?+
GitHub Copilot supports All languages; Ollama supports "Not verified" (see the Ollama page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick GitHub Copilot or Ollama?+
GitHub Copilot: Choose GitHub Copilot when work already lives on GitHub and you will compare Free, Pro, Pro+, and Max completion allowances and monthly prices on the official plans page, rather than the older figure that treated 39 USD as the top tier. Ollama: Choose Ollama when you want to run open models on your own machine and the official pricing page states that local runs are unlimited. Cloud credits are not part of that local free use.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for GitHub Copilot is dated 2026-10-12 and for Ollama 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.