Comparison
Descript vs Kling AI
Descript vs Kling AI, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Video Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
Descript: Free to start; tiers split by media hours and AI credits; Kling AI: Global site moved from klingai.com to kling.ai; no citable amount this round. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Video Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
Descript
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose Descript when podcast or talking-head video is edited by editing the transcript and you accept that media hours and AI credits are capped per tier with top-ups sold separately.
When to skip it Free gives only 60 media minutes per month and the training opt-out and custom retention appear only on Enterprise, and it is not a substitute for multicam or complex compositing. For video, image, and audio scheduled from one credit system, the closer directory record is Runway; for template-driven social graphics and decks, the closer record is Canva AI. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0 (60 minutes media / month); Hobbyist 24; Creator 35; Business 65 — USD / person / month (monthly); Hobbyist 16; Creator 24; Business 50 — USD / person / month (billed annually, page states Annual Saving up to 35% over monthly plan); Enterprise Custom. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official sourceKling AI
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose Kling AI when you will check the currently purchasable membership tiers and credit rules yourself on kling.ai (the global site, now migrated from klingai.com, still 可灵 AI in Chinese) and accept that the price list has to be viewed inside the app.
When to skip it The price list lives inside the app, so no citable amount was obtained this round and comparing tiers without opening the app does not work here; clip length and lip sync were also not checked on kling.ai this round. To schedule video, image, and audio from one credit system where all prices are on one page, the closer directory record is Runway; for a hosted image API billed per image or per megapixel, the closer record is Flux. This is not a ranked review.
Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.
Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Descript, Kling AI.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does Descript pricing compare with Kling AI?+
Descript: Verified price: Free 0 (60 minutes media / month); Hobbyist 24; Creator 35; Business 65 — USD / person / month (monthly); Hobbyist 16; Creator 24; Business 50 — USD / person / month (billed annually, page states Annual Saving up to 35% over monthly plan); Enterprise Custom. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Kling AI: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.
Which platforms do Descript and Kling AI support?+
Descript runs on "Not verified" (see the Descript page); Kling AI runs on "Not verified" (see the Kling AI page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do Descript and Kling AI support?+
Descript supports "Not verified" (see the Descript page); Kling AI supports "Not verified" (see the Kling AI page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick Descript or Kling AI?+
Descript: Choose Descript when podcast or talking-head video is edited by editing the transcript and you accept that media hours and AI credits are capped per tier with top-ups sold separately. Kling AI: Choose Kling AI when you will check the currently purchasable membership tiers and credit rules yourself on kling.ai (the global site, now migrated from klingai.com, still 可灵 AI in Chinese) and accept that the price list has to be viewed inside the app.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for Descript is dated 2026-10-12 and for Kling AI 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.