Comparison
CapCut vs Descript
CapCut vs Descript, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Video Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
CapCut: Homepage lists product and download only, no membership prices; Descript: Free to start; tiers split by media hours and AI credits. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Video Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
CapCut
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose CapCut when templates, auto captions, and generative fill should all happen inside one editor instead of moving assets between several tools.
When to skip it This entry's official site is capcut.cn: its homepage lists product capabilities and a download entry point only, with no published membership tier or price, so checking the subscription price first is unverified; the international CapCut site's quotes are not the same membership system as the mainland-China site and were not adopted. To edit sentence by sentence from a transcript rather than through templates, the closer directory record is Descript; to auto-cut long videos into social shorts, the closer record is Opus Clip. This is not a ranked review.
Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.
Descript
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose Descript when podcast or talking-head video is edited by editing the transcript and you accept that media hours and AI credits are capped per tier with top-ups sold separately.
When to skip it Free gives only 60 media minutes per month and the training opt-out and custom retention appear only on Enterprise, and it is not a substitute for multicam or complex compositing. For video, image, and audio scheduled from one credit system, the closer directory record is Runway; for template-driven social graphics and decks, the closer record is Canva AI. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0 (60 minutes media / month); Hobbyist 24; Creator 35; Business 65 — USD / person / month (monthly); Hobbyist 16; Creator 24; Business 50 — USD / person / month (billed annually, page states Annual Saving up to 35% over monthly plan); Enterprise Custom. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official sourceCells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for CapCut, Descript.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does CapCut pricing compare with Descript?+
CapCut: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. Descript: Verified price: Free 0 (60 minutes media / month); Hobbyist 24; Creator 35; Business 65 — USD / person / month (monthly); Hobbyist 16; Creator 24; Business 50 — USD / person / month (billed annually, page states Annual Saving up to 35% over monthly plan); Enterprise Custom. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do CapCut and Descript support?+
CapCut runs on "Not verified" (see the CapCut page); Descript runs on "Not verified" (see the Descript page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do CapCut and Descript support?+
CapCut supports "Not verified" (see the CapCut page); Descript supports "Not verified" (see the Descript page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick CapCut or Descript?+
CapCut: Choose CapCut when templates, auto captions, and generative fill should all happen inside one editor instead of moving assets between several tools. Descript: Choose Descript when podcast or talking-head video is edited by editing the transcript and you accept that media hours and AI credits are capped per tier with top-ups sold separately.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for CapCut is dated 2026-10-12 and for Descript 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.