Skip to main content

Comparison

CapCut vs Opus Clip

CapCut vs Opus Clip, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Video Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

CapCut: Homepage lists product and download only, no membership prices; Opus Clip: Long video to shorts; free tier watermarked 3 days. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Video Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

CapCut

Fact source

When to pick it Choose CapCut when templates, auto captions, and generative fill should all happen inside one editor instead of moving assets between several tools.

When to skip it This entry's official site is capcut.cn: its homepage lists product capabilities and a download entry point only, with no published membership tier or price, so checking the subscription price first is unverified; the international CapCut site's quotes are not the same membership system as the mainland-China site and were not adopted. To edit sentence by sentence from a transcript rather than through templates, the closer directory record is Descript; to auto-cut long videos into social shorts, the closer record is Opus Clip. This is not a ranked review.

Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.

Opus Clip

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Opus Clip when long podcast or livestream footage has to keep turning into shorts and credit rollover matters: Pro gives 300 credits per month, carries unused credits for 2 months, and adds a 2-seat team workspace plus export to Premiere Pro / DaVinci Resolve.

When to skip it The Free tier watermarks output, blocks editing, and stops exports after three days, so it only validates topic cutting; Starter is documented as monthly-only, so annual billing means Pro (a single 174 USD payment per year). To edit a long video sentence by sentence from its transcript instead of cutting it into shorts, the closer directory record is Descript; for general editing with templates and auto captions, the closer record is CapCut. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0 / month (60 credits / month); Starter 15 / month (monthly only, 150 credits / month); Pro 29 / month, 174 / year (annual billing view shows 14.5 / month, not the monthly price), 300 credits / month, unused credits roll over 2 months — USD / month; Business Custom pricing (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.6 / 54.6 / 5
PricingFreemiumFreemium
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresNot verifiedNot verified
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for CapCut, Opus Clip.

CapCut

Homepage lists product and download only, no membership prices

Learn more →

Opus Clip

Long video to shorts; free tier watermarked 3 days

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does CapCut pricing compare with Opus Clip?+

CapCut: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. Opus Clip: Verified price: Free 0 / month (60 credits / month); Starter 15 / month (monthly only, 150 credits / month); Pro 29 / month, 174 / year (annual billing view shows 14.5 / month, not the monthly price), 300 credits / month, unused credits roll over 2 months — USD / month; Business Custom pricing (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do CapCut and Opus Clip support?+

CapCut runs on "Not verified" (see the CapCut page); Opus Clip runs on "Not verified" (see the Opus Clip page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do CapCut and Opus Clip support?+

CapCut supports "Not verified" (see the CapCut page); Opus Clip supports "Not verified" (see the Opus Clip page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick CapCut or Opus Clip?+

CapCut: Choose CapCut when templates, auto captions, and generative fill should all happen inside one editor instead of moving assets between several tools. Opus Clip: Choose Opus Clip when long podcast or livestream footage has to keep turning into shorts and credit rollover matters: Pro gives 300 credits per month, carries unused credits for 2 months, and adds a 2-seat team workspace plus export to Premiere Pro / DaVinci Resolve.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for CapCut is dated 2026-10-12 and for Opus Clip 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons