Skip to main content

Comparison

Opus Clip vs Runway

Opus Clip vs Runway, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Video Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Opus Clip: Long video to shorts; free tier watermarked 3 days; Runway: Credits-based video, image, and audio suite. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Video Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Opus Clip

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Opus Clip when long podcast or livestream footage has to keep turning into shorts and credit rollover matters: Pro gives 300 credits per month, carries unused credits for 2 months, and adds a 2-seat team workspace plus export to Premiere Pro / DaVinci Resolve.

When to skip it The Free tier watermarks output, blocks editing, and stops exports after three days, so it only validates topic cutting; Starter is documented as monthly-only, so annual billing means Pro (a single 174 USD payment per year). To edit a long video sentence by sentence from its transcript instead of cutting it into shorts, the closer directory record is Descript; for general editing with templates and auto captions, the closer record is CapCut. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0 / month (60 credits / month); Starter 15 / month (monthly only, 150 credits / month); Pro 29 / month, 174 / year (annual billing view shows 14.5 / month, not the monthly price), 300 credits / month, unused credits roll over 2 months — USD / month; Business Custom pricing (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

Runway

Fact source

When to pick it Generation, re-shoots, and audio should sit in one credit system: Runway puts Gen-4.5, Gen-4 Image, and Seed Audio 1.0 on a single price sheet.

When to skip it Monthly credits do not roll over on Standard or Pro (only Max carries one month) and top-ups start at 1,000 credits, so burn the one-time 125 free credits before committing. To pick on maximum single-clip length and lip sync instead, read the Kling AI record in this directory; to try several video models behind one interface, read the Pika record. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0 — USD / month (one-time 125 credits); Standard 15 — USD / month (monthly) or 12 — USD / month (billed annually, Save $36/year); Pro 35 (monthly) or 28 (billed annually, Save $84/year); Max 95 (monthly) or 76 (billed annually, Save $228/year); Team 69 — USD / user / month (structured data). (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.6 / 54.6 / 5
PricingFreemiumFreemium
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresNot verifiedGen-4.5 and Gen-4 Turbo video, Aleph 2.0, Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro images
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Opus Clip, Runway.

Opus Clip

Long video to shorts; free tier watermarked 3 days

Learn more →

Runway

Credits-based video, image, and audio suite

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Opus Clip pricing compare with Runway?+

Opus Clip: Verified price: Free 0 / month (60 credits / month); Starter 15 / month (monthly only, 150 credits / month); Pro 29 / month, 174 / year (annual billing view shows 14.5 / month, not the monthly price), 300 credits / month, unused credits roll over 2 months — USD / month; Business Custom pricing (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Runway: Verified price: Free 0 — USD / month (one-time 125 credits); Standard 15 — USD / month (monthly) or 12 — USD / month (billed annually, Save $36/year); Pro 35 (monthly) or 28 (billed annually, Save $84/year); Max 95 (monthly) or 76 (billed annually, Save $228/year); Team 69 — USD / user / month (structured data). (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Opus Clip and Runway support?+

Opus Clip runs on "Not verified" (see the Opus Clip page); Runway runs on "Not verified" (see the Runway page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Opus Clip and Runway support?+

Opus Clip supports "Not verified" (see the Opus Clip page); Runway supports "Not verified" (see the Runway page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Opus Clip or Runway?+

Opus Clip: Choose Opus Clip when long podcast or livestream footage has to keep turning into shorts and credit rollover matters: Pro gives 300 credits per month, carries unused credits for 2 months, and adds a 2-seat team workspace plus export to Premiere Pro / DaVinci Resolve. Runway: Generation, re-shoots, and audio should sit in one credit system: Runway puts Gen-4.5, Gen-4 Image, and Seed Audio 1.0 on a single price sheet.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Opus Clip is dated 2026-10-12 and for Runway 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons