Skip to main content

Comparison

ChatGPT vs DeepSeek

ChatGPT vs DeepSeek, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Text Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

ChatGPT: OpenAI chat product; DeepSeek: V4.1-Flash and V4-Pro, priced per 1M tokens in peak/off-peak bands. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Text Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

ChatGPT

Fact source

When to pick it Open the official pricing page, not an amount on this site, when you need to confirm ChatGPT has a free plan and then compare which of Go, Plus, and Pro includes higher Codex or image limits.

When to skip it The pricing page did not state a plan amount, and it did not say whether non-Search answers include clickable citations; both are unverified. If the job is reading one long document in a single pass, the closer directory record is Claude. If the job is running an open model on your own machine rather than a cloud subscription, the closer record is Ollama. This is not a ranked review.

Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.

DeepSeek

Fact source

When to pick it Choose the DeepSeek API when per-million-token rates have to be costed out for a coding or reasoning workload and you can live with two rate bands, peak and off-peak, plus concurrency caps of 2500 and 500.

When to skip it The page says deepseek-v4-flash and deepseek-v4-flash-vision-exp are retired and now served by DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash at the Flash price, so integrations with a model name or version pinned in code have to change. Vision is flash-only and v4-pro is marked Not supported; if you want open weights to self-host, the closer record in this directory is Qwen, and if you need one long document read rather than a token-billed API, the closer record is Kimi. The page states no region and no commercial licence scope (unverified).

Verified price: Prices per 1M tokens — USD / 1M tokens. deepseek-flash: input (cache hit) off-peak 0.003, peak 0.006; input (cache miss) off-peak 0.15, peak 0.3; output off-peak 0.6, peak 1.2. deepseek-v4-pro: input (cache hit) off-peak 0.022, peak 0.044; input (cache miss) off-peak 0.66, peak 1.32; output off-peak 1.98, peak 3.96. off-peak is half of peak; peak hours UTC Mon-Fri 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00, all other times and Chinese statutory holidays count as off-peak. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.7 / 54.6 / 5
PricingFreemiumFreemium
PlatformsWeb, iOS, Android, DesktopNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresText chat, Search, Codexdeepseek-flash (V4.1-Flash) and deepseek-v4-pro, OpenAI and Anthropic base URL formats, 1M context, up to 384K maximum output
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for ChatGPT, DeepSeek.

ChatGPT

OpenAI chat product

Learn more →

DeepSeek

V4.1-Flash and V4-Pro, priced per 1M tokens in peak/off-peak bands

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does ChatGPT pricing compare with DeepSeek?+

ChatGPT: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. DeepSeek: Verified price: Prices per 1M tokens — USD / 1M tokens. deepseek-flash: input (cache hit) off-peak 0.003, peak 0.006; input (cache miss) off-peak 0.15, peak 0.3; output off-peak 0.6, peak 1.2. deepseek-v4-pro: input (cache hit) off-peak 0.022, peak 0.044; input (cache miss) off-peak 0.66, peak 1.32; output off-peak 1.98, peak 3.96. off-peak is half of peak; peak hours UTC Mon-Fri 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00, all other times and Chinese statutory holidays count as off-peak. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do ChatGPT and DeepSeek support?+

ChatGPT runs on Web, iOS, Android, Desktop; DeepSeek runs on "Not verified" (see the DeepSeek page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do ChatGPT and DeepSeek support?+

ChatGPT supports "Not verified" (see the ChatGPT page); DeepSeek supports "Not verified" (see the DeepSeek page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick ChatGPT or DeepSeek?+

ChatGPT: Open the official pricing page, not an amount on this site, when you need to confirm ChatGPT has a free plan and then compare which of Go, Plus, and Pro includes higher Codex or image limits. DeepSeek: Choose the DeepSeek API when per-million-token rates have to be costed out for a coding or reasoning workload and you can live with two rate bands, peak and off-peak, plus concurrency caps of 2500 and 500.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for ChatGPT is dated 2026-10-12 and for DeepSeek 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons