Comparison
Claude vs DeepSeek
Claude vs DeepSeek, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Text Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
Claude: Web chat and Claude Code share one usage pool; DeepSeek: V4.1-Flash and V4-Pro, priced per 1M tokens in peak/off-peak bands. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Text Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
Claude
Fact sourceWhen to pick it When one very long contract or codebase needs a single read for analysis, check the Free-tier cap of 5 Projects first, then decide whether Free or a higher plan fits.
When to skip it Free, Pro, and Max default to opt-out for model training, so default no-training means Team or Enterprise; the pricing page does not say whether answers carry clickable citations (unverified), so pair it with a source-grounded tool when traceability matters. To run an open model on your own machine instead of a cloud subscription, the closer record is Ollama. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0; Pro 20 — USD / month (or 200 — USD / year, page labels it 17 USD / month); Max from 100 — USD / month (5x and 20x tiers include 100 and 200 USD / month of API credit); Team standard seat 25 — USD / seat / month (annual 20), premium seat 125 (monthly) and 100 (annual); Enterprise 20 — USD / seat / month, billed annually, plus API-rate usage. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official sourceDeepSeek
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose the DeepSeek API when per-million-token rates have to be costed out for a coding or reasoning workload and you can live with two rate bands, peak and off-peak, plus concurrency caps of 2500 and 500.
When to skip it The page says deepseek-v4-flash and deepseek-v4-flash-vision-exp are retired and now served by DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash at the Flash price, so integrations with a model name or version pinned in code have to change. Vision is flash-only and v4-pro is marked Not supported; if you want open weights to self-host, the closer record in this directory is Qwen, and if you need one long document read rather than a token-billed API, the closer record is Kimi. The page states no region and no commercial licence scope (unverified).
Verified price: Prices per 1M tokens — USD / 1M tokens. deepseek-flash: input (cache hit) off-peak 0.003, peak 0.006; input (cache miss) off-peak 0.15, peak 0.3; output off-peak 0.6, peak 1.2. deepseek-v4-pro: input (cache hit) off-peak 0.022, peak 0.044; input (cache miss) off-peak 0.66, peak 1.32; output off-peak 1.98, peak 3.96. off-peak is half of peak; peak hours UTC Mon-Fri 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00, all other times and Chinese statutory holidays count as off-peak. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official source| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Directory score | 4.7 / 5 | 4.6 / 5 |
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Platforms | Web, API | Not verified |
| Models | Not verified | Not verified |
| Core features | Web chat and Claude Code share a usage pool, Artifacts and Projects (Free caps at 5), MCP and connectors | deepseek-flash (V4.1-Flash) and deepseek-v4-pro, OpenAI and Anthropic base URL formats, 1M context, up to 384K maximum output |
| Formats | Not verified | Not verified |
Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Claude, DeepSeek.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does Claude pricing compare with DeepSeek?+
Claude: Verified price: Free 0; Pro 20 — USD / month (or 200 — USD / year, page labels it 17 USD / month); Max from 100 — USD / month (5x and 20x tiers include 100 and 200 USD / month of API credit); Team standard seat 25 — USD / seat / month (annual 20), premium seat 125 (monthly) and 100 (annual); Enterprise 20 — USD / seat / month, billed annually, plus API-rate usage. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. DeepSeek: Verified price: Prices per 1M tokens — USD / 1M tokens. deepseek-flash: input (cache hit) off-peak 0.003, peak 0.006; input (cache miss) off-peak 0.15, peak 0.3; output off-peak 0.6, peak 1.2. deepseek-v4-pro: input (cache hit) off-peak 0.022, peak 0.044; input (cache miss) off-peak 0.66, peak 1.32; output off-peak 1.98, peak 3.96. off-peak is half of peak; peak hours UTC Mon-Fri 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00, all other times and Chinese statutory holidays count as off-peak. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do Claude and DeepSeek support?+
Claude runs on Web, API; DeepSeek runs on "Not verified" (see the DeepSeek page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do Claude and DeepSeek support?+
Claude supports "Not verified" (see the Claude page); DeepSeek supports "Not verified" (see the DeepSeek page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick Claude or DeepSeek?+
Claude: When one very long contract or codebase needs a single read for analysis, check the Free-tier cap of 5 Projects first, then decide whether Free or a higher plan fits. DeepSeek: Choose the DeepSeek API when per-million-token rates have to be costed out for a coding or reasoning workload and you can live with two rate bands, peak and off-peak, plus concurrency caps of 2500 and 500.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for Claude is dated 2026-10-12 and for DeepSeek 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.