Skip to main content

Comparison

Descript vs Hailuo AI

Descript vs Hailuo AI, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Video Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Descript: Free to start; tiers split by media hours and AI credits; Hailuo AI: Five plans; Ultra and Max each unlock one generation. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Video Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Descript

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Descript when podcast or talking-head video is edited by editing the transcript and you accept that media hours and AI credits are capped per tier with top-ups sold separately.

When to skip it Free gives only 60 media minutes per month and the training opt-out and custom retention appear only on Enterprise, and it is not a substitute for multicam or complex compositing. For video, image, and audio scheduled from one credit system, the closer directory record is Runway; for template-driven social graphics and decks, the closer record is Canva AI. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0 (60 minutes media / month); Hobbyist 24; Creator 35; Business 65 — USD / person / month (monthly); Hobbyist 16; Creator 24; Business 50 — USD / person / month (billed annually, page states Annual Saving up to 35% over monthly plan); Enterprise Custom. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

Hailuo AI

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Hailuo AI when per-clip cost has to be worked back from credits and you need 1080p and 10-second shots: the page spells out 768p 6s as 25 credits and 1080p 6s as 80 credits, and Max adds unlimited Hailuo 01 and 02 use.

When to skip it The limited-time prices (Standard 7.99, Pro 24.99, Master 63.99 USD per month) are documented as returning to list price after the promotion, so budget on the list price; purchased credits expire after 1 year and do not carry over from plan credits. To schedule video, image, and audio generation on one credit pool, the closer directory record is Runway; to auto-cut long videos into shorts, the closer record is Opus Clip. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Standard 14.99 / month (limited-time 7.99); Pro 54.99 / month (limited-time 24.99); Master 94.99 / month (limited-time 63.99); Ultra 124.99 / month; Max 199.99 / month — USD / month; credits / month Standard 1,000, Pro 4,500, Master 10,000, Ultra 12,000, Max 20,000; top-up minimum 5 USD, top-up credits expire 1 year after purchase (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.5 / 54.6 / 5
PricingFreemiumFreemium
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresNot verifiedNot verified
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Descript, Hailuo AI.

Descript

Free to start; tiers split by media hours and AI credits

Learn more →

Hailuo AI

Five plans; Ultra and Max each unlock one generation

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Descript pricing compare with Hailuo AI?+

Descript: Verified price: Free 0 (60 minutes media / month); Hobbyist 24; Creator 35; Business 65 — USD / person / month (monthly); Hobbyist 16; Creator 24; Business 50 — USD / person / month (billed annually, page states Annual Saving up to 35% over monthly plan); Enterprise Custom. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Hailuo AI: Verified price: Standard 14.99 / month (limited-time 7.99); Pro 54.99 / month (limited-time 24.99); Master 94.99 / month (limited-time 63.99); Ultra 124.99 / month; Max 199.99 / month — USD / month; credits / month Standard 1,000, Pro 4,500, Master 10,000, Ultra 12,000, Max 20,000; top-up minimum 5 USD, top-up credits expire 1 year after purchase (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Descript and Hailuo AI support?+

Descript runs on "Not verified" (see the Descript page); Hailuo AI runs on "Not verified" (see the Hailuo AI page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Descript and Hailuo AI support?+

Descript supports "Not verified" (see the Descript page); Hailuo AI supports "Not verified" (see the Hailuo AI page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Descript or Hailuo AI?+

Descript: Choose Descript when podcast or talking-head video is edited by editing the transcript and you accept that media hours and AI credits are capped per tier with top-ups sold separately. Hailuo AI: Choose Hailuo AI when per-clip cost has to be worked back from credits and you need 1080p and 10-second shots: the page spells out 768p 6s as 25 credits and 1080p 6s as 80 credits, and Max adds unlimited Hailuo 01 and 02 use.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Descript is dated 2026-10-12 and for Hailuo AI 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons