Skip to main content

Comparison

Hugging Face vs Ollama

Hugging Face vs Ollama, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Hugging Face: Open-weights and dataset hub, billed per TB and per hour; Ollama: Local runs plus cloud usage credits. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Hugging Face

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Hugging Face to locate open weights and compare community baselines while reading licences repository by repository: PRO is 9 USD per month, Team is 20 USD per user per month, and private repository storage is billed separately at 18 USD/TB/month.

When to skip it Licences are per repository, so "downloadable here" is not "cleared for commercial use"; Inference Endpoints are dedicated instances billed hourly (the page starts at 0.033 USD/hour), not something that runs free after download, and public versus private storage is priced per TB. To pull weights onto your own machine instead, the closer directory record is Ollama; to route one key across many providers and compare prices, the closer record is OpenRouter. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: PRO 9; Team 20 / user; Enterprise 50 / user — USD / month; storage public 12, private 18 — USD / TB / month (50TB+ 20% off, 200TB+ 25% off, 500TB+ 33% off); inference endpoints from 0.033 USD / hour (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

Ollama

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Ollama when you want to run open models on your own machine and the official pricing page states that local runs are unlimited. Cloud credits are not part of that local free use.

When to skip it If you want the multi-model API gateway already described in this directory, rather than a local runtime, the closer record is OpenRouter. If you want a graphical workbench rather than a command-line runtime, the closer record is LM Studio. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0; Team from 500 / month (includes 1000 shared usage credit / month) — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.6 / 54.6 / 5
PricingFreemiumFreemium
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresModel and dataset hosting, Spaces demos, Inference endpointsLocal runs, Unlimited local runs, Cloud usage credits
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Hugging Face, Ollama.

Hugging Face

Open-weights and dataset hub, billed per TB and per hour

Learn more →

Ollama

Local runs plus cloud usage credits

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Hugging Face pricing compare with Ollama?+

Hugging Face: Verified price: PRO 9; Team 20 / user; Enterprise 50 / user — USD / month; storage public 12, private 18 — USD / TB / month (50TB+ 20% off, 200TB+ 25% off, 500TB+ 33% off); inference endpoints from 0.033 USD / hour (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Ollama: Verified price: Free 0; Team from 500 / month (includes 1000 shared usage credit / month) — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Hugging Face and Ollama support?+

Hugging Face runs on "Not verified" (see the Hugging Face page); Ollama runs on "Not verified" (see the Ollama page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Hugging Face and Ollama support?+

Hugging Face supports "Not verified" (see the Hugging Face page); Ollama supports "Not verified" (see the Ollama page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Hugging Face or Ollama?+

Hugging Face: Choose Hugging Face to locate open weights and compare community baselines while reading licences repository by repository: PRO is 9 USD per month, Team is 20 USD per user per month, and private repository storage is billed separately at 18 USD/TB/month. Ollama: Choose Ollama when you want to run open models on your own machine and the official pricing page states that local runs are unlimited. Cloud credits are not part of that local free use.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Hugging Face is dated 2026-10-12 and for Ollama 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons