Comparison
Aider vs Ollama
Aider vs Ollama, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
Aider: Open-source terminal pair programming, you supply the model; Ollama: Local runs plus cloud usage credits. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
Aider
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose Aider when you want to drive terminal pair programming with your own API keys, or with models running locally under Ollama, and have every change land as a Git commit.
When to skip it Aider's own install is Apache 2.0 open source and charges nothing per seat, but inference is settled by usage at whichever model provider you pick; the official docs say models weaker than GPT-3.5 often fail to edit files, so read its leaderboard before choosing a model. For a self-hostable assistant with custom context sources inside your IDE rather than a terminal, the closer directory record is Continue; for a terminal agent whose model quota is carried by a vendor subscription, the closer record is Claude Code. This is not a ranked review.
Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.
Ollama
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose Ollama when you want to run open models on your own machine and the official pricing page states that local runs are unlimited. Cloud credits are not part of that local free use.
When to skip it If you want the multi-model API gateway already described in this directory, rather than a local runtime, the closer record is OpenRouter. If you want a graphical workbench rather than a command-line runtime, the closer record is LM Studio. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0; Team from 500 / month (includes 1000 shared usage credit / month) — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official sourceCells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Aider, Ollama.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does Aider pricing compare with Ollama?+
Aider: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. Ollama: Verified price: Free 0; Team from 500 / month (includes 1000 shared usage credit / month) — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do Aider and Ollama support?+
Aider runs on "Not verified" (see the Aider page); Ollama runs on "Not verified" (see the Ollama page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do Aider and Ollama support?+
Aider supports "Not verified" (see the Aider page); Ollama supports "Not verified" (see the Ollama page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick Aider or Ollama?+
Aider: Choose Aider when you want to drive terminal pair programming with your own API keys, or with models running locally under Ollama, and have every change land as a Git commit. Ollama: Choose Ollama when you want to run open models on your own machine and the official pricing page states that local runs are unlimited. Cloud credits are not part of that local free use.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for Aider is dated 2026-10-12 and for Ollama 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.