Skip to main content

Comparison

Bolt vs Cursor

Bolt vs Cursor, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Bolt: In-browser full-stack generator metered by token limits; Cursor: AI editor with Composer and Cloud agents. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Bolt

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Bolt to get a runnable full-stack project straight from a prompt in the browser while planning by token quota: Pro starts at 10M tokens per month, and unused tokens from a paid plan roll over for one more month.

When to skip it Everything is counted in tokens, and the official FAQ says most of that usage goes on syncing the project file system to the AI, so a bigger project costs more per message; Free keeps Bolt branding and a 10MB upload cap, and Teams tokens are not shared between members. For React and Tailwind interfaces billed in credits inside your own Vercel account, the closer directory record is v0; for a conversational build of a full app with database and auth, the closer record is Lovable. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0; Pro 25 (monthly billing); Teams 30 / member — USD / month; annual billing saves up to 28% (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

Cursor

Fact source

When to pick it A team needs centralised billing and an editor that can turn on team-wide Privacy mode: the Cursor Teams tier at 40 USD per user per month is what covers both.

When to skip it Hobby allows only limited Agent requests and the page says on-demand usage is billed in arrears afterwards; Privacy mode only promises no training use, not that code never leaves, so pair it with local inference when that is the requirement. Where the workflow already lives on GitHub and tiers are picked by completion allowance, the closer directory record is GitHub Copilot; for an IDE assistant you can fully self-host with your own models, the closer record is Continue. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Hobby free (no amount rendered); Individual 20 — USD / user / month (Pro, default); Teams 40 — USD / user / month (Standard, default); Enterprise Custom. Pro+, Ultra, Premium and annual amounts not rendered. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.5 / 54.8 / 5
PricingFreemiumFreemium
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresPrompt to app, Runs in browser, Instant previewAgent and Composer, Cloud agents, MCPs, skills, and hooks
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Bolt, Cursor.

Bolt

In-browser full-stack generator metered by token limits

Learn more →

Cursor

AI editor with Composer and Cloud agents

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Bolt pricing compare with Cursor?+

Bolt: Verified price: Free 0; Pro 25 (monthly billing); Teams 30 / member — USD / month; annual billing saves up to 28% (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Cursor: Verified price: Hobby free (no amount rendered); Individual 20 — USD / user / month (Pro, default); Teams 40 — USD / user / month (Standard, default); Enterprise Custom. Pro+, Ultra, Premium and annual amounts not rendered. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Bolt and Cursor support?+

Bolt runs on "Not verified" (see the Bolt page); Cursor runs on "Not verified" (see the Cursor page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Bolt and Cursor support?+

Bolt supports "Not verified" (see the Bolt page); Cursor supports "Not verified" (see the Cursor page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Bolt or Cursor?+

Bolt: Choose Bolt to get a runnable full-stack project straight from a prompt in the browser while planning by token quota: Pro starts at 10M tokens per month, and unused tokens from a paid plan roll over for one more month. Cursor: A team needs centralised billing and an editor that can turn on team-wide Privacy mode: the Cursor Teams tier at 40 USD per user per month is what covers both.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Bolt is dated 2026-10-12 and for Cursor 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons