Skip to main content

Comparison

Bolt vs Claude Code

Bolt vs Claude Code, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Bolt: In-browser full-stack generator metered by token limits; Claude Code: Terminal agent drawn from Claude paid plans, shared usage pool. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Bolt

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Bolt to get a runnable full-stack project straight from a prompt in the browser while planning by token quota: Pro starts at 10M tokens per month, and unused tokens from a paid plan roll over for one more month.

When to skip it Everything is counted in tokens, and the official FAQ says most of that usage goes on syncing the project file system to the AI, so a bigger project costs more per message; Free keeps Bolt branding and a 10MB upload cap, and Teams tokens are not shared between members. For React and Tailwind interfaces billed in credits inside your own Vercel account, the closer directory record is v0; for a conversational build of a full app with database and auth, the closer record is Lovable. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0; Pro 25 (monthly billing); Teams 30 / member — USD / month; annual billing saves up to 28% (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

Claude Code

Fact source

When to pick it Choose Claude Code when you already pay for Claude Pro or higher and accept that the terminal agent and the web chat draw on the same usage pool, so no separate coding-agent subscription is needed.

When to skip it The Free plan does not include Claude Code and the desktop app section states a paid subscription is required; to keep code away from an Anthropic claude.ai login entirely, route through Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud's Agent Platform, or Microsoft Foundry instead. For an editor that gives team-level Privacy mode and centralised billing on its Teams tier, the closer directory record is Cursor; for an Apache 2.0 terminal tool you fully self-host and bill through your own API keys, the closer record is Aider. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Pro 20 / month, 200 / year (annual billing view shows 17 / month); Max from 100 / month; Team standard seat 25 / seat / month, 20 / seat / year — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.5 / 54.8 / 5
PricingFreemiumPaid
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresPrompt to app, Runs in browser, Instant previewTerminal agent, Cross-file refactors, Command execution
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Bolt, Claude Code.

Bolt

In-browser full-stack generator metered by token limits

Learn more →

Claude Code

Terminal agent drawn from Claude paid plans, shared usage pool

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Bolt pricing compare with Claude Code?+

Bolt: Verified price: Free 0; Pro 25 (monthly billing); Teams 30 / member — USD / month; annual billing saves up to 28% (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Claude Code: Verified price: Pro 20 / month, 200 / year (annual billing view shows 17 / month); Max from 100 / month; Team standard seat 25 / seat / month, 20 / seat / year — USD (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Bolt and Claude Code support?+

Bolt runs on "Not verified" (see the Bolt page); Claude Code runs on "Not verified" (see the Claude Code page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Bolt and Claude Code support?+

Bolt supports "Not verified" (see the Bolt page); Claude Code supports "Not verified" (see the Claude Code page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Bolt or Claude Code?+

Bolt: Choose Bolt to get a runnable full-stack project straight from a prompt in the browser while planning by token quota: Pro starts at 10M tokens per month, and unused tokens from a paid plan roll over for one more month. Claude Code: Choose Claude Code when you already pay for Claude Pro or higher and accept that the terminal agent and the web chat draw on the same usage pool, so no separate coding-agent subscription is needed.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Bolt is dated 2026-10-12 and for Claude Code 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons