Comparison
Bolt vs GitHub Copilot
Bolt vs GitHub Copilot, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Code Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
Bolt: In-browser full-stack generator metered by token limits; GitHub Copilot: Coding assistant with a free plan and agent mode. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Code Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
Bolt
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose Bolt to get a runnable full-stack project straight from a prompt in the browser while planning by token quota: Pro starts at 10M tokens per month, and unused tokens from a paid plan roll over for one more month.
When to skip it Everything is counted in tokens, and the official FAQ says most of that usage goes on syncing the project file system to the AI, so a bigger project costs more per message; Free keeps Bolt branding and a 10MB upload cap, and Teams tokens are not shared between members. For React and Tailwind interfaces billed in credits inside your own Vercel account, the closer directory record is v0; for a conversational build of a full app with database and auth, the closer record is Lovable. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0; Pro 25 (monthly billing); Teams 30 / member — USD / month; annual billing saves up to 28% (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official sourceGitHub Copilot
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose GitHub Copilot when work already lives on GitHub and you will compare Free, Pro, Pro+, and Max completion allowances and monthly prices on the official plans page, rather than the older figure that treated 39 USD as the top tier.
When to skip it The plans page says Pro includes a monthly allowance; add-on rules after that allowance were not checked line by line this round. If the job is an open runtime in a local repository rather than a GitHub subscription, the closer directory record is Ollama. If the job is a terminal coding agent rather than IDE completion, the closer record is Claude Code. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Free 0 — USD; Pro 10; Pro+ 39; Max 100 — USD / user / month (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official source| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Directory score | 4.5 / 5 | 4.6 / 5 |
| Pricing | Freemium | Freemium |
| Platforms | Not verified | VS Code, JetBrains, Neovim |
| Models | Not verified | GPT-5, Claude Sonnet 4.5, Gemini 2.5 Pro |
| Core features | Prompt to app, Runs in browser, Instant preview | Code completion, Agent mode, Copilot Chat |
| Formats | Not verified | All languages |
Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Bolt.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does Bolt pricing compare with GitHub Copilot?+
Bolt: Verified price: Free 0; Pro 25 (monthly billing); Teams 30 / member — USD / month; annual billing saves up to 28% (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. GitHub Copilot: Verified price: Free 0 — USD; Pro 10; Pro+ 39; Max 100 — USD / user / month (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-10). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do Bolt and GitHub Copilot support?+
Bolt runs on "Not verified" (see the Bolt page); GitHub Copilot runs on VS Code, JetBrains, Neovim. If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do Bolt and GitHub Copilot support?+
Bolt supports "Not verified" (see the Bolt page); GitHub Copilot supports All languages. Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick Bolt or GitHub Copilot?+
Bolt: Choose Bolt to get a runnable full-stack project straight from a prompt in the browser while planning by token quota: Pro starts at 10M tokens per month, and unused tokens from a paid plan roll over for one more month. GitHub Copilot: Choose GitHub Copilot when work already lives on GitHub and you will compare Free, Pro, Pro+, and Max completion allowances and monthly prices on the official plans page, rather than the older figure that treated 39 USD as the top tier.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for Bolt is dated 2026-10-12 and for GitHub Copilot 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.