Comparison
DALL·E 3 vs Midjourney
DALL·E 3 vs Midjourney, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Image Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
DALL·E 3: OpenAI image model no longer on the official price page; Midjourney: Visual creation, regional edits and reference images. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Image Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
DALL·E 3
Fact sourceWhen to pick it When an older project still calls the DALL·E 3 model name, open the official API pricing page first and compare it with the current gpt-image line before deciding whether to migrate; this entry does not use another image model figure as its own price.
When to skip it As of 2026-10-12 the official API pricing page lists its image models under the gpt-image line with no DALL·E 3 and no price for it, so integrations that pin the model name have to be checked against what is on sale before migrating; this is not a review of DALL·E 3. For a hosted image API billed per image or per megapixel, the closer directory record is Flux; to generate images through a chat subscription instead of your own API calls, the closer record is ChatGPT. This is not a ranked review.
Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.
Midjourney
The official-source check covers identity, purpose and the core capabilities listed below. Prices, models, platforms, formats and licensing require separate checks.
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Iterating on composition and details around an existing visual direction.
When to skip it Exact dimensions, lettering or pixel consistency require manual review.
Verified price: Basic 10; Standard 30; Pro 60; Mega 120 — USD / month; Basic 96; Standard 288; Pro 576; Mega 1152 — USD / year (prepaid full year, 20% off). Extra GPU time 4 — USD / hour. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official source| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Directory score | 4.6 / 5 | 4.8 / 5 |
| Pricing | Freemium | Paid |
| Platforms | Not verified | Not verified |
| Models | Not verified | Not verified |
| Core features | Not verified | Instruction-based image editing, Inpainting and outpainting, Layer compositions |
| Formats | Not verified | Not verified |
Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for DALL·E 3, Midjourney.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does DALL·E 3 pricing compare with Midjourney?+
DALL·E 3: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. Midjourney: Verified price: Basic 10; Standard 30; Pro 60; Mega 120 — USD / month; Basic 96; Standard 288; Pro 576; Mega 1152 — USD / year (prepaid full year, 20% off). Extra GPU time 4 — USD / hour. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do DALL·E 3 and Midjourney support?+
DALL·E 3 runs on "Not verified" (see the DALL·E 3 page); Midjourney runs on "Not verified" (see the Midjourney page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do DALL·E 3 and Midjourney support?+
DALL·E 3 supports "Not verified" (see the DALL·E 3 page); Midjourney supports "Not verified" (see the Midjourney page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick DALL·E 3 or Midjourney?+
DALL·E 3: When an older project still calls the DALL·E 3 model name, open the official API pricing page first and compare it with the current gpt-image line before deciding whether to migrate; this entry does not use another image model figure as its own price. Midjourney: Iterating on composition and details around an existing visual direction.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for DALL·E 3 is dated 2026-10-12 and for Midjourney 2026-10-15. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.