Skip to main content

Comparison

Midjourney vs Stable Diffusion

Midjourney vs Stable Diffusion, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Image Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Midjourney: Visual creation, regional edits and reference images; Stable Diffusion: SD 3.5-era open weights you can self-host. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Image Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Midjourney

The official-source check covers identity, purpose and the core capabilities listed below. Prices, models, platforms, formats and licensing require separate checks.

Fact source

When to pick it Iterating on composition and details around an existing visual direction.

When to skip it Exact dimensions, lettering or pixel consistency require manual review.

Verified price: Basic 10; Standard 30; Pro 60; Mega 120 — USD / month; Basic 96; Standard 288; Pro 576; Mega 1152 — USD / year (prepaid full year, 20% off). Extra GPU time 4 — USD / hour. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

Stable Diffusion

Fact source

When to pick it Keeping the image pipeline on your own machines while the official Community License still applies, which it does below US $1,000,000 in annual revenue, is the band where Stable Diffusion 3.5 is the open-weights choice.

When to skip it Everything beside self-hosting is billed in credits (Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large is 6.5 credits per image), and above US $1,000,000 in annual revenue the Community License no longer covers you. To build a controlled graph-style workflow without writing your own scheduler, the closer directory record is ComfyUI; for another family of open-weights image models licensed per variant, the closer record is Flux. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: 1 credit = 0.01 USD; Stable Image Ultra 8; Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large 6.5; 3.5 Large Turbo 4; 3.5 Medium 3.5; 3.5 Flash 2.5; Stable Image Core 3; SDXL 1.0 from 0.9 — credits / image; upscaling Creative 60; Conservative 40; Fast 2; signup bonus 25 credits. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.8 / 54.6 / 5
PricingPaidFree
PlatformsNot verifiedNot verified
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresInstruction-based image editing, Inpainting and outpainting, Layer compositionsStable Diffusion 3.5 (Large / Turbo / Medium), SDXL and SDXL Turbo, Editing: inpaint, outpaint, remove background, search and replace
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Midjourney, Stable Diffusion.

Midjourney

Visual creation, regional edits and reference images

Learn more →

Stable Diffusion

SD 3.5-era open weights you can self-host

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Midjourney pricing compare with Stable Diffusion?+

Midjourney: Verified price: Basic 10; Standard 30; Pro 60; Mega 120 — USD / month; Basic 96; Standard 288; Pro 576; Mega 1152 — USD / year (prepaid full year, 20% off). Extra GPU time 4 — USD / hour. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Stable Diffusion: Verified price: 1 credit = 0.01 USD; Stable Image Ultra 8; Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large 6.5; 3.5 Large Turbo 4; 3.5 Medium 3.5; 3.5 Flash 2.5; Stable Image Core 3; SDXL 1.0 from 0.9 — credits / image; upscaling Creative 60; Conservative 40; Fast 2; signup bonus 25 credits. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Midjourney and Stable Diffusion support?+

Midjourney runs on "Not verified" (see the Midjourney page); Stable Diffusion runs on "Not verified" (see the Stable Diffusion page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Midjourney and Stable Diffusion support?+

Midjourney supports "Not verified" (see the Midjourney page); Stable Diffusion supports "Not verified" (see the Stable Diffusion page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Midjourney or Stable Diffusion?+

Midjourney: Iterating on composition and details around an existing visual direction. Stable Diffusion: Keeping the image pipeline on your own machines while the official Community License still applies, which it does below US $1,000,000 in annual revenue, is the band where Stable Diffusion 3.5 is the open-weights choice.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Midjourney is dated 2026-10-15 and for Stable Diffusion 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons