Comparison
DALL·E 3 vs Stable Diffusion
DALL·E 3 vs Stable Diffusion, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Image Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
DALL·E 3: OpenAI image model no longer on the official price page; Stable Diffusion: SD 3.5-era open weights you can self-host. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Image Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
DALL·E 3
Fact sourceWhen to pick it When an older project still calls the DALL·E 3 model name, open the official API pricing page first and compare it with the current gpt-image line before deciding whether to migrate; this entry does not use another image model figure as its own price.
When to skip it As of 2026-10-12 the official API pricing page lists its image models under the gpt-image line with no DALL·E 3 and no price for it, so integrations that pin the model name have to be checked against what is on sale before migrating; this is not a review of DALL·E 3. For a hosted image API billed per image or per megapixel, the closer directory record is Flux; to generate images through a chat subscription instead of your own API calls, the closer record is ChatGPT. This is not a ranked review.
Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.
Stable Diffusion
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Keeping the image pipeline on your own machines while the official Community License still applies, which it does below US $1,000,000 in annual revenue, is the band where Stable Diffusion 3.5 is the open-weights choice.
When to skip it Everything beside self-hosting is billed in credits (Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large is 6.5 credits per image), and above US $1,000,000 in annual revenue the Community License no longer covers you. To build a controlled graph-style workflow without writing your own scheduler, the closer directory record is ComfyUI; for another family of open-weights image models licensed per variant, the closer record is Flux. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: 1 credit = 0.01 USD; Stable Image Ultra 8; Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large 6.5; 3.5 Large Turbo 4; 3.5 Medium 3.5; 3.5 Flash 2.5; Stable Image Core 3; SDXL 1.0 from 0.9 — credits / image; upscaling Creative 60; Conservative 40; Fast 2; signup bonus 25 credits. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official source| Attribute | ||
|---|---|---|
| Directory score | 4.6 / 5 | 4.6 / 5 |
| Pricing | Freemium | Free |
| Platforms | Not verified | Not verified |
| Models | Not verified | Not verified |
| Core features | Not verified | Stable Diffusion 3.5 (Large / Turbo / Medium), SDXL and SDXL Turbo, Editing: inpaint, outpaint, remove background, search and replace |
| Formats | Not verified | Not verified |
Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for DALL·E 3, Stable Diffusion.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does DALL·E 3 pricing compare with Stable Diffusion?+
DALL·E 3: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. Stable Diffusion: Verified price: 1 credit = 0.01 USD; Stable Image Ultra 8; Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large 6.5; 3.5 Large Turbo 4; 3.5 Medium 3.5; 3.5 Flash 2.5; Stable Image Core 3; SDXL 1.0 from 0.9 — credits / image; upscaling Creative 60; Conservative 40; Fast 2; signup bonus 25 credits. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do DALL·E 3 and Stable Diffusion support?+
DALL·E 3 runs on "Not verified" (see the DALL·E 3 page); Stable Diffusion runs on "Not verified" (see the Stable Diffusion page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do DALL·E 3 and Stable Diffusion support?+
DALL·E 3 supports "Not verified" (see the DALL·E 3 page); Stable Diffusion supports "Not verified" (see the Stable Diffusion page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick DALL·E 3 or Stable Diffusion?+
DALL·E 3: When an older project still calls the DALL·E 3 model name, open the official API pricing page first and compare it with the current gpt-image line before deciding whether to migrate; this entry does not use another image model figure as its own price. Stable Diffusion: Keeping the image pipeline on your own machines while the official Community License still applies, which it does below US $1,000,000 in annual revenue, is the band where Stable Diffusion 3.5 is the open-weights choice.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for DALL·E 3 is dated 2026-10-12 and for Stable Diffusion 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.