Comparison
DALL·E 3 vs Flux
DALL·E 3 vs Flux, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Image Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.
Quick verdict
DALL·E 3: OpenAI image model no longer on the official price page; Flux: Pay-as-you-go FLUX image and video models. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.
How to choose for the same task
Both sides belong to the Image Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.
DALL·E 3
Fact sourceWhen to pick it When an older project still calls the DALL·E 3 model name, open the official API pricing page first and compare it with the current gpt-image line before deciding whether to migrate; this entry does not use another image model figure as its own price.
When to skip it As of 2026-10-12 the official API pricing page lists its image models under the gpt-image line with no DALL·E 3 and no price for it, so integrations that pin the model name have to be checked against what is on sale before migrating; this is not a review of DALL·E 3. For a hosted image API billed per image or per megapixel, the closer directory record is Flux; to generate images through a chat subscription instead of your own API calls, the closer record is ChatGPT. This is not a ranked review.
Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount.
Flux
Fact sourceWhen to pick it Choose Flux when billing per generation matters more than a subscription or seat fee, and you need open weights to run FLUX on your own infrastructure; the official page keeps pay as you go and Open Weights Licensing separate.
When to skip it Enterprise volume and SLAs are listed as Contact Sales with no public amount, and open weights are licensed per variant, so check the repository licence before commercial use. To run open weights locally where a Community License revenue threshold decides free commercial use, the closer directory record is Stable Diffusion; for hosted conversational image generation you do not maintain yourself, the closer record is ChatGPT. This is not a ranked review.
Verified price: Pay as you go — USD / image: FLUX 3 Image 768×768 0.041; 1K 0.048; 1.5K 0.07; 2K 0.1; 4K 0.607; FLUX.2 [pro] first megapixel 0.03 then 0.015 per megapixel; FLUX.2 [max] 0.07 / 0.03; FLUX.2 [flex] 0.05 per megapixel; FLUX.2 [klein] 9B 0.015 / 0.002, 4B 0.014 / 0.001; FLUX Outpainting [high] 0.1 per megapixel, [fast] 0.045 / 0.006; FLUX Erase 0.03 / 0.004; FLUX VTO 0.0375 / 0.005; FLUX 3 Video text / image-to-video HD 0.17; FHD 0.29; 2K 0.4; 4K 0.8 — USD / second; Enterprise Custom. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Official sourceCells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for DALL·E 3, Flux.
Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.
Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →FAQ
How does DALL·E 3 pricing compare with Flux?+
DALL·E 3: Exact price not verified. Any pricing-model label describes a billing category, not a verified amount. Flux: Verified price: Pay as you go — USD / image: FLUX 3 Image 768×768 0.041; 1K 0.048; 1.5K 0.07; 2K 0.1; 4K 0.607; FLUX.2 [pro] first megapixel 0.03 then 0.015 per megapixel; FLUX.2 [max] 0.07 / 0.03; FLUX.2 [flex] 0.05 per megapixel; FLUX.2 [klein] 9B 0.015 / 0.002, 4B 0.014 / 0.001; FLUX Outpainting [high] 0.1 per megapixel, [fast] 0.045 / 0.006; FLUX Erase 0.03 / 0.004; FLUX VTO 0.0375 / 0.005; FLUX 3 Video text / image-to-video HD 0.17; FHD 0.29; 2K 0.4; 4K 0.8 — USD / second; Enterprise Custom. (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.
Which platforms do DALL·E 3 and Flux support?+
DALL·E 3 runs on "Not verified" (see the DALL·E 3 page); Flux runs on "Not verified" (see the Flux page). If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.
Which file formats do DALL·E 3 and Flux support?+
DALL·E 3 supports "Not verified" (see the DALL·E 3 page); Flux supports "Not verified" (see the Flux page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.
Should I pick DALL·E 3 or Flux?+
DALL·E 3: When an older project still calls the DALL·E 3 model name, open the official API pricing page first and compare it with the current gpt-image line before deciding whether to migrate; this entry does not use another image model figure as its own price. Flux: Choose Flux when billing per generation matters more than a subscription or seat fee, and you need open weights to run FLUX on your own infrastructure; the official page keeps pay as you go and Open Weights Licensing separate.
Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+
The directory record for DALL·E 3 is dated 2026-10-12 and for Flux 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.