Skip to main content

Comparison

Runway vs Google Veo

Runway vs Google Veo, laid out side by side: pricing model, platforms, available models, core features, and supported formats. Both tools are listed under the Video Generation category, and every field comes from this site's directory records. A pricing model is not an amount.

Quick verdict

Runway: Credits-based video, image, and audio suite; Google Veo: Per-second video generation with native audio. Start with the task you need to finish. Sharing a category does not establish that they are interchangeable; they may serve different stages of a workflow. The conditions and evidence gaps for each follow below.

How to choose for the same task

Both sides belong to the Video Generation category. The conditionals below come from this site's directory records: first check which side's suitability fits your task and which side's exclusions affect you less; if both fit, decide by pricing basis and by how well platforms and formats line up. Prices appear only where a record has been verified; where it has not, no number is given.

Runway

Fact source

When to pick it Generation, re-shoots, and audio should sit in one credit system: Runway puts Gen-4.5, Gen-4 Image, and Seed Audio 1.0 on a single price sheet.

When to skip it Monthly credits do not roll over on Standard or Pro (only Max carries one month) and top-ups start at 1,000 credits, so burn the one-time 125 free credits before committing. To pick on maximum single-clip length and lip sync instead, read the Kling AI record in this directory; to try several video models behind one interface, read the Pika record. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Free 0 — USD / month (one-time 125 credits); Standard 15 — USD / month (monthly) or 12 — USD / month (billed annually, Save $36/year); Pro 35 (monthly) or 28 (billed annually, Save $84/year); Max 95 (monthly) or 76 (billed annually, Save $228/year); Team 69 — USD / user / month (structured data). (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source

Google Veo

Fact source

When to pick it Pick it when a shot needs its synchronized audio from the same generation (Veo 3.1 outputs video with audio) and output can stay at 720p or 1080p; 4k is only on the Standard and Fast tiers, and Lite is documented as not supporting 4k output.

When to skip it The Free Tier cell for Veo 3.1 on the Gemini API page says Not available and the paid tier is billed per second (Standard with audio 0.40 USD/second), so free trials and using Lite for 4k are both out. For a single credits pool shared across video, image and audio with a one-time free allowance to test first, the closer entry in this directory is Runway; to choose on a 15-second per-shot cap and lip sync, the closer entry is Kling AI. This is not a ranked review.

Verified price: Veo 3.1 Standard with audio 0.40 (720p, 1080p), 4k 0.60; Veo 3.1 Fast with audio 0.10 (720p), 0.12 (1080p), 0.30 (4k); Veo 3.1 Lite with audio 0.05 (720p), 0.08 (1080p), no 4k output — USD / second (Gemini API paid tier) (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Official source
Attribute
Directory score4.6 / 54.5 / 5
PricingFreemiumPaid
PlatformsNot verifiedWeb, API
ModelsNot verifiedNot verified
Core featuresGen-4.5 and Gen-4 Turbo video, Aleph 2.0, Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro imagesNot verified
FormatsNot verifiedNot verified

Cells marked "Not verified" in the table are fields the directory still keeps but did not check item by item against the official source this time; they are not verified facts. Please double-check them on the detail pages for Runway, Google Veo.

Runway

Credits-based video, image, and audio suite

Learn more →

Google Veo

Per-second video generation with native audio

Learn more →

Open a tool page for its official source link and directory record date.

Open the comparison tool to combine more tools →

FAQ

How does Runway pricing compare with Google Veo?+

Runway: Verified price: Free 0 — USD / month (one-time 125 credits); Standard 15 — USD / month (monthly) or 12 — USD / month (billed annually, Save $36/year); Pro 35 (monthly) or 28 (billed annually, Save $84/year); Max 95 (monthly) or 76 (billed annually, Save $228/year); Team 69 — USD / user / month (structured data). (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly. Google Veo: Verified price: Veo 3.1 Standard with audio 0.40 (720p, 1080p), 4k 0.60; Veo 3.1 Fast with audio 0.10 (720p), 0.12 (1080p), 0.30 (4k); Veo 3.1 Lite with audio 0.05 (720p), 0.08 (1080p), no 4k output — USD / second (Gemini API paid tier) (region: not stated, checked 2026-10-12). Annual prices are not converted to monthly.

Which platforms do Runway and Google Veo support?+

Runway runs on "Not verified" (see the Runway page); Google Veo runs on Web, API. If you hand work between devices — draft on desktop, tweak on mobile — check that both ends of your usual setup are covered, and note that feature completeness can differ per platform.

Which file formats do Runway and Google Veo support?+

Runway supports "Not verified" (see the Runway page); Google Veo supports "Not verified" (see the Google Veo page). Format coverage decides whether either tool slots into your existing asset and delivery pipeline, so align inputs and outputs before pairing them.

Should I pick Runway or Google Veo?+

Runway: Generation, re-shoots, and audio should sit in one credit system: Runway puts Gen-4.5, Gen-4 Image, and Seed Audio 1.0 on a single price sheet. Google Veo: Pick it when a shot needs its synchronized audio from the same generation (Veo 3.1 outputs video with audio) and output can stay at 720p or 1080p; 4k is only on the Standard and Fast tiers, and Lite is documented as not supporting 4k output.

Where does this comparison data come from, and how fresh is it?+

The directory record for Runway is dated 2026-10-12 and for Google Veo 2026-10-12. Pricing models, platforms, models, features, and formats come from this site's directory records rather than live crawling. A pricing model is not an amount. Capabilities and prices change between versions, so re-check the official sources linked from each tool page before deciding.

More comparisons